Thursday, December 9, 2010

Miñoso led Marianao to first Cuban League pennant in 1956-57

A 1956-57 card album showing the logos of the four Cuban League teams (clockwise): Almendares, Habana, Marianao and Cienfuegos.

That season Marianao won its first Cuban League pennant in 20 years of existance as Orestes "Minnie" Miñoso was named MVP while winning the batting title (.312).

On the pitching side, the Tigres were led by Mike Fornieles (11-7) and Hall of Famer Jim Bunning (11-5).

No comments:

Post a Comment