Friday, August 12, 2011

Adolfo Luque, Adrian Zabala, Alejandro Crespo led Cienfuegos to 1945-46 title

The 1945-46 Cuban League champion Cienfeugos team.

With Adolfo Luque (seated fifth from the left) in his third season as the Elefantes' manager, Cienfuegos won the franchise's second title Cuban League history.

Adrian Zabala (standing third from the left) led the league with a 9-3 record, writers voted Alejandro Crespo (seated second from the right) as the MVP after he led in hits (72) and RBI (35), according to Cuban Baseball: A Statistical History, 1878-1961.

The team also included Hall of Famer Martin Dihigo, Napoleon Reyes, Silvio Garcia, Sal Maglie and Lefty Tiant.

No comments:

Post a Comment