Thursday, February 3, 2011

1887 team won Habana's sixth consecutive Cuban League title

A portion of a cabinet photo showing the board of directors of the Habana team, which won both the 1886 and 1887 Cuban League title.

The image of the nattily dressed officers includes Emilio Sabourin (standing left), one of the founders of the Cuban League. Draped across them is a championship flag, hand-colored in red.

This photo drew a winning bid of $1,867 at Leland's in June of 2005.

As Cuban Baseball Hall of Famer Adolfo Luján won five of the team's 10 victories, Habana won it's sixth consecutive championship despite Carlos Macía winning seven of Almendares' nine victories, according to Cuban Baseball: A Statistical History, 1878-1961.

One of Macia's victories, was the first no-hitter in Cuban League history, a 38-0 win against Carmelita. That game also saw the Blues complete the first triple play in league history and Macia, also enshrined in the Cuban League Hall of Fame, his the season's only home run, according to Jorge Figueredo's book.

No comments:

Post a Comment