Monday, January 10, 2011

Santa Clara's 1923-24 team perhaps greatest in Cuban League history

The 1923-24 Cuban League champion Santa Clara team.

Perhaps the greatest team in Cuban League history, the Leopardos went 36-11 to win the pennant by 11 1/2 games over Habana.

According to Cuban Baseball: A Statistical History, 1878-1961, seven of Santa Clara's eight regulars batted well over .300 to set a league record with a team batting average of .331.

This photo posted at Baseball Fever shows (standing from left to right) Jose Mendez, Oscar Charleston, Oliver Marcelle, Esteban Montalvo, Frank Warfield, Julio Rojo, (middle row from left) Frank Duncan, Alejandro Oms, Pablo Mesa, (sitting from left) Rube Currie, Dave Brown, Dobie Moore, Pedro Dibut, Matias Rios and Eustaquio Pedroso.

Mendez and Charleston are enshrined in the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y.

No fewer than nine of the 15 players shown in this photo are members of the Cuban Baseball Hall of Fame: Mendez, Charleston, Mesa, Oms, Marcelle, Pedroso, Montalvo, Rojo and Dibut.

No comments:

Post a Comment